Bay Area Foreign Language Program



Site Director

Margaret Dyer
mcdyer@stanford.edu
Japanese Teacher

Team Leaders


Strand A Leaders


Hélène Chan
San Jose State University
vipchan@aol.com
Teacher Education Coordinator for
French, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese

Sally Mearns (Leadership Dev. Coordinator)
Mountain View High School
Sally.Mearns@earthlink.net
French and Spanish Teacher

Antonella Wemple
Burlingame High School
dig4fun@comcast.net
Italian Teacher

Strand B/C Leaders


Yolie Westerström Diego
Santa Cruz High School
yoliewd@hotmail.com
Spanish Teacher

Marcelo Leal (Tech Leader)
Oak Grove High School
lealm@esuhsd.org
Spanish Teacher

Liz Matchett (Leadership Dev. Coordinator)
Gunn High School
lmatchett@pausd.org
Spanish Teacher

Yolanda Mercado
James Logan High School
yolanda_mercado@nhusd.k12.ca.us
Spanish Teacher

Nancy Bainter
(on Sabbatical)
mvbnlb@comcast.net
French Teacher

FLES Leader

Akiyo Hirose
Clarendon Elementary School
ahirose47@hotmail.com
Japanese Teacher

Principal Investigators

Amado Padilla
Stanford University
apadilla@stanford.edu

Carmen Sigler
San Jose State University